- Rowan-Salisbury School System
- Drivers Eduation
DRIVER EDUCATION CONTACTS
Jim BrooksTitles: Driver Ed CoordinatorEmail: firstname.lastname@example.orgLocation: Transportation Dept.Cell Phone: 980-866-7450
Todd BellTitles: Lead Driver EDLocation: West Rowan HighEmail: email@example.com
Milton GriffithTitles: Lead Driver EDLocation: Salisbury HighEmail: firstname.lastname@example.orgPhone Number:
School: 7046361221 ext. 396042
Tim BurnsTitles: Lead Driver EDLocation: Carson High SchoolEmail: Burnsts@rss.k12.nc.usPhone: 704-855-7297
Jason CausbyTitles: Lead Driver EDLocations: North RowanEmail: CausbyJB@rss.k12.nc.usPhone: 704-636-4420
George FederickTitles: Lead Driver EDLocation: Early CollegePhone: 704-216-3873
Angie ChrismonTitles: Lead Driver EDLocation: South Rowan High
Chad MitchellTitles: Lead Driver EDLocation: East Rowan High
North Carolina Handbook
**Caution - there are lots of practice test sites on the internet. They will appear to be from the DMV. Most are private sites and not associated with the official NCDOT/DMV. Make sure they are using the most current version of the handbook (2018.). Also pay attention because some sites will make you pay. There are plenty of free ones available.
NC DMV Online Practice Test (From the 2018 North Carolina driver handbook)
There are 10 Practice tests on this site - all are linked across the top of the page. Passing score is 80%.
Sign Test passing score is 9 out of 12 signs correctly identified.
Sample Test Questions from NCDOT
NC Driving School Practice Tests- this is a credible site. A lot of school districts contract out their driver's ed courses and training through them.
Online Sign Test - Students can practice online.
Driver’s Education is available to all Rowan-Salisbury School System students, as well as all public, private, charter or licensed homeschool students who reside in Rowan County. Non-public school students must take Driver’s Education in the school district where they reside.
Classes are offered throughout the school year and during the summer at each high school in the Rowan-Salisbury School System. To register for a class, contact the high school you are districted to.
Driver’s Education costs $65, and can be paid online (4% service fee added) via debit or credit card. If you wish to pay with cash, please contact your student’s school.
In order to obtain a driver’s license before the age of 18, the state of North Carolina requires that students successfully complete thirty (30) hours of classroom instruction followed by six (6) hours of behind-the-wheel training.
The law requires students to attend 30 hours of class. No absences, tardiness or early dismissal is allowed for any class. You must be in class the full session to receive credit for that day. Attendance issues/emergencies should be discussed with the Driver’s Education instructor for make-up time and work.
Students must be at least 14 ½-years-old on the first day of their selected class to be eligible to participate in the Driver’s Education program. Students must also be in the 9th grade and under the age of 18 years of age (G.S. 20-88.1). Students are required to present a copy of their birth certificate on the first day of class.
Students are strongly encouraged to register for classroom instruction as soon as they become 14 ½ years of age. Every effort will be made for them to receive the behind-the-wheel training by their 15th birthday.
All Driver’s Education students must adhere to the Student Code of Conduct for Rowan-Salisbury School System.
DRIVER EDUCATION REQUIREMENTS
- Students must arrange transportation to and from each classroom session. Students must be picked up promptly. No loitering on campus.
- Classroom requirements must be successfully completed with a minimum average grade of 70.
- Students are required to attend all classes. No tardiness or early dismissal is allowed for any class. You must be in class the full session to receive credit for that day. Attendance issues/emergencies should be discussed with the teacher for make-up time and work.
- If a student drops a class or fails to attend a session, they will be unable to retake the class until space is available.
- If you have plans that conflict with class attendance, you should wait and take another class that best suits the student's schedule.
- A Restricted Instruction Permit form will be issued to each student which must be signed by the parent/guardian, student and driver’s education instructor.
- During the classroom phase, a Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) examiner will conduct an eye check for all students who have completed and returned the Restricted Instruction Permit form. Students absent on the day of the eye check must make an appointment with the DMV examiner at 704-639-3051, Ext. 124.
- If a student fails the eye check, they will be issued an 804 form to be completed by a Vision Specialist. This form must be returned to the driver’s education instructor before the student can be scheduled for Behind the Wheel training.
Behind The Wheel (BTW) Training Requirements
- Upon successful completion of all classroom requirements, students will be contacted to schedule the Behind the Wheel sessions (6 hours required).
- Students may be driven before school, after school, on Saturdays, and on non-school days.
- Students will be scheduled for BTW training based on class completion date and their birthdates (oldest to youngest) when possible.
- Make sure all student phone numbers are current. Students should notify the driver’s education lead instructor of any change of address, phone number, or if a student transfers to another school.
- The driver’s education lead instructor will provide dates, times, where to meet the instructor and other additional information when they contact the student.
Law Enforcement Safe Stops