Rowan-Salisbury School System Board of Education

  • group

    Kathy Sanborn (Vice Chair), Dean Hunter, Jimmy Greene, Alisha Byrd-Clark (Chair), 
    Dr. Lynn Marsh, Kevin Jones, Sabrina Harris 


    The Rowan-Salisbury Board of Education is made up of seven members, representing different geographic regions of Rowan County.

    The Board of Education establishes the policies that govern the Rowan-Salisbury School System, including curriculum, facilities, financial resources and personnel. The Board also evaluates the superintendent.

    The Rowan-Salisbury Board of Education typically meets on the second and fourth Monday of each month at the Wallace Educational Forum, 500 N. Main St., Salisbury, NC. Work sessions are held every second Monday, and business meetings are held every fourth Monday.

    Board members are elected by Rowan County citizens in nonpartisan elections every four years. The terms are staggered to ensure continuity of service.

    Term expires in 2024: Seat #5 (Salisbury), Seat #3 (East), Seat #7 (Southeast)

    Term expires in 2026: Seat #2 (South), Seat #1 (North), Seat #4 (West), Seat #6 (Special)

    For more information about the Rowan-Salisbury Board of Education, visit their website.